Annual General Meeting 2012

Report by CSL Anita Muscat
28th January 2012

At the end of January, the Victoria Scout Group held its Annual General Meeting at its headquarters. The Group Chairman, Mr Joe W Cassar welcomed those present and invited the Secretary, the Group Scout Leader and the Treasurer to deliver their reports. This was followed by a short talk by a guest speaker Mr Antoine Vassallo. The Mayor of Victoria, Dr Samuel Azzopardi and the Archpriest of the Cathedral parish, Mgr Joseph Attard also attended this meeting.

Presentations followed. The recipients for this year's awards were as follows:

  • Venture Scout of the Year: Christopher Micallef
  • Scout of the Year: Mark Portelli
  • Cub Scout of the Year (Seeonee Pack): Samuel Rapa
  • Cub Scout of the Year (Saturday Pack): Andrea Galea
  • Certificates of Merit were awarded to: Matthew Galea, Beppe Galea, Gianluca Terribile, Mark Mizzi, Rudi Vic Mompalao and Matthew Grech.
  • Salvinu Camilleri Shield: Kestrel Patrol
  • Cuschieri Trophy: Bulldog Patrol
  • Inter-Six Monthly Competition (Seeonee Pack): Grey Six and Black Six
  • Inter-Six Monthly Competition (Saturday Pack): Green Six

The investiture ceremony for 8 Cubs and 1 Scout concluded the ceremonial part of this meeting.

The GSL than announced that the present Chairman of the Group Council, Mr Joe G Cassar had resigned from his post and that this would be the last meeting over which he would preside. For the past 30 years, Mr Cassar had served the group in various posts. The GSL thanked Mr Cassar for his untiring contribution over the years and wished him a well-earned rest. To show the Group's appreciation, the GSL presented him with a memento. The GSL announced that the new Council Chairman will be Mr Michael Grech and that the new Treasurer will be Mr Gino Mizzi. He also announced that the Group had nominated Mr Cassar as the first honorary Chairman of the Victoria Scout Group.

Annual General Meeting